Review: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

24817626

 

Go Set a Watchman perfectly captures a young woman, and a world, in a painful yet necessary transition out of the illusions of the past–a journey that can be guided only by one’s conscience.

Lukewarm on this one. A tad boring, tends to wander for my tastes. Entertaining but not enough for a full fledge sequel. With its ‘meh’ factor I question why it was released other than the obvious of piggybacking on TKAM’s success.

Scout is confrontational. Seen as a big city girl, since residing in NY, but deep down she’s all small town with naivety in tact. She fails to hold her tongue and engages with her Aunt Alexandra quite often. Aunt Alexandra is confused on social position, she urges Scout to rethink her relationship with Hank who she considers to be ‘trash.’ Apparently Scout is above Hank’s station. Through Scout’s ‘adult eyes’ Aunt Alexandra, Atticus, Scout herself look very different through her lens as an adolescent.

“I certainly hoped a daughter of mine’d hold her ground for what she thinks is right—stand up to me first of all.” 

Not a surprise to the reader when Scout learns Atticus is not who she perceived and assumed he was. Dialogue ensues and she embraces him regardless. Clabbered path to reach the gist.

“As you grew up, when you were grown, totally unknown to yourself, you confused your father with God. You never saw him as a man with a man’s heart, and a man’s failings—I’ll grant you it may have been hard to see, he makes so few mistakes, but he makes ‘em like all of us. You were an emotional cripple, leaning on him, getting the answers from him, assuming that your answers would always be his answers.”

Loads of flashbacks to her and Jem’s childhood days, which come out of nowhere. You can’t help but notice there is no mention of Boo Ridley, found this odd. Not the slightest of mention.

Basically eccentricity carries you to the last page. This should have remained unpublished, per my expectations and taste.

imageedit_1_9833400730

•Hardcover, 278 pages
•Published July 14th 2015 by HarperCollins
•ISBN13: 9780062409850

2 thoughts on “Review: Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

  1. Thank you for your review – I’m going to be ordering this book as I so enjoyed Mockingbird. While I haven’t read it yet, your comment about it not being published is over reaching – I don’t read stuff about vampires but I wouldn’t say Twilight shouldn’t be published – different genres for different folks 😀

    Like

    • I encourage you to read the book, my review simply reflects my experience reading the book along with my thoughts. I doubt your reading journey will be the exact same. Personally I ignore others reviews, I prefer to reach my own conclusion. I do hope you enjoy your reading adventure with this one, mediocre for me. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

