The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson w/ Giveaway

The-Bookseller• Print Length: 352 pages
• Publisher: Harper (March 3, 2015)

A mesmerizingly powerful debut novel about the ways in which past choices can irrevocably define the present—and the bittersweet confrontation of what might have been.

Not really sure what to make of this book. It left me scratching my head and digging for answers as to what I read.

I’m confident I understand the direction Swanson was going, for me, it failed in execution. Needless to say my reading journey was severely stunted.

Swanson undoubtedly stepped out of the box. She demonstrated her originality while clearly setting herself apart. I have mixed feelings regarding Kitty/Katharyn, she has good intentions yet she contradicts these intentions in many ways.

This has to be the most boring book I have ever read. I kept with it hoping the excitement would unleash but it was a futile exercise. I stifled my yawns and made it through to the end feeling as if I could have used my valuable time otherwise. I wasn’t a fan of the way autism was approached, yes the narrative is set in the 1960’s contributing to the ignorance (fingers crossed) but it still made me very uncomfortable. I’m also not a huge fan of ‘what if?’ which of course is the premise of this book. The narrative was leaning towards ‘tell’ as opposed to ‘show’ and it made for one grueling ride. The ending was predictable adding to my frustration.

After reading this book, spending time with Kitty/Katharyn it’s official I love my life even more than I did prior to cracking this book open. This book is proof one should participate in life rather than being a spectator.

Goodreads

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

About Cynthia SwansonCynthia-Swanson
Cynthia Swanson is a writer and a designer of the midcentury modern style. She has published short fiction in 13th Moon, Kalliope, Sojourner, and other periodicals; her story in 13th Moon was a Pushcart Prize nominee. She lives in Denver, Colorado, with her husband and three children. The Bookseller is her first novel.

Find out more about Cynthia at her website and connect with her on Facebook.

Giveaway
To enter to win a copy of The Bookseller please complete the giveaway form below. Open to US residents only. Ends 4/16/15
ENTRY-FORM

Thrilled to be participating in the tour for Cynthia Swanson’s The Bookseller be sure to check out the entire tour schedule here, it runs through 6 May. Thank you TLC!

image

One thought on “The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson w/ Giveaway

Leave a Reply

