Wonderland by Stacey D’Erasmo

18096054

Reviewer: Melinda
Recommendation: 3.5/5


A riveting look at the life of a musician, a moving inquiry into the life of a woman on an unconventional path, wondering what happens next and what her passions might have cost her, seeking a version of herself she might recognize.

Solidly crafted literary work from a female rockers perspective. Innovative and ingenious. D’Erasmo submerges the reader into the depths of Anna’s tour, music and comeback. An artsy edge with a gritty grainy past and present of a middle aged rocker hoping for a second chance. The reader feels a true sense of the challenges females face in the music industry, especially from the mature age of Anna.

“Music is quicksilver, gossamer; careers are measured in butterfly lifetimes. My butterfly life ended seven years ago in Rome. No one gives a shit about what I do anymore. I’m on a tiny label, albeit a tiny one with some cachet, but I paid for Wonderland myself. I begin to feel queasy. What have I started? I eye the sentimental porcelain figurine, singing so witlessly. Why did Boone agree to take me on? Am I a novelty act?”

D’Erasmo blends smart prose with a poetic splash in combination with a serrated artsy peak. She is bold in her narrative and gives the reader a raw and untamed ripe character. D’Erasmo has carved her place and is to be noticed. Extremely well shaped novel.

Leave a Reply

